Who Am I?

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So you want to know more about me, huh? I’m not surprised, I’m just that awesome, I know.

What you should know about my personal life:

I am in my late twenties, and I am married to my best friend of eleven years. We have two gorgeous daughters together, ages six and two. I work full-time, my husband is currently a stay-at-home dad, and we’re both back in college after a four year break. We both love to spend time with our kids, and I especially like to save up as much money as we can and take a trip to Disneyland every year. My hobbies include reading, all things Disney, roaming around on the internet, watching TV and playing with my girls.

Now for what you should know about my professional experience and education:

I have lived in Arizona all my life. I graduated high school in 2004 in the top 10% of my class. I stayed in my hometown and put myself through community college (where the degree is just as valid, but costs less than half the money.)

I got a job as a phone operator in a hotel casino in Laughlin, Nevada the week after I graduated high school. The years passed and in 2007, I had been in almost every position I could have found in the hotel that I was legally allowed to do. I moved up the seniority ladder, and I turned 21; the golden age of opportunity in a casino setting. I obtained my hard-worked-for two associates degrees and two specialty certificates, got married, and was pregnant with my first child all within about 3 months.

My, how time flies.

I applied for promotion to administrative assistant in housekeeping (mostly because it was a sitting job and I was getting larger by the day), expecting just to ride out my time until the baby was born. But I found my niche instead. I started handling all the inventory and purchasing for that department. Before I knew it I had made the right friends and promoted my abilities enough that I was given a shot as Buyer in the purchasing department. I helped turn the department around and save tens of thousands of dollars. I was promoted in August 2014 to Inventory Control Manager and have made significant progress with inventory times, receiving errors, and the like in the short time I’ve been in that position. And to top it all off, I’ve been with the company over 10 years.

In order to keep moving forward now, though, I have to get that bachelors degree under my belt. So I’ve gone back to school through Arizona State University Online. I’m working toward my bachelors in Operational Management, with hopes of one day starting my own, small, family-owned-and-operated bed-and-breakfast, but if that doesn’t work out, I’d love to continue in the procurement field and ultimately work for Disney. Talk about a dream come true!

My family comes first, but I really enjoy my job, and if I can share my enthusiasm for the field and someone finds their niche there as well, I’m a happy woman. I have accomplished what I set out to do.

I am always open to suggestions and new opportunities. If you have any tips, suggestions, or just general words of encouragement, feel free to send me an email – acleving@asu.edu or use the contact me section.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s